National Association of Black Journalists Scholarships

National Association of Black Journalists awards scholarships annually to deserving students who hold NABJ membership and are interested in pursuing careers in journalism. Scholarships are up to $2,500 each and are named in honor of NABJ Founders DeWayne Wickham, Les Payne, and Maureen Bunyan; and Past President Merv Aubespin.  Scholarships are also named in honor of pioneer Carole Simpson, late journalists Larry Whiteside and Allison Fisher, and NABJ’s Visual Task Force.

Application Deadline: It depends on the type of scholarship

Year at Time of Application: 
First-Year Student, Sophomore, Junior
Duration of Award: 
None (Award Only)
Underrepresented Ethnicity, Non-U.S. Citizen
Direct Submission
Area of Interest: 
Communications and Journalism, Education, Humanities, International Relations Political Science and Law, Social and Behavioral Sciences
Earliest Application Deadline: 
Jan. – April, May – Aug., Sept. – Dec.
Penn-State Sponsored: